Shanghai teachers to initiate UK 'Maths Hubs'

By Morwenna Evans Tuesday, July 8, 2014

The government has announced that up to 60 maths teachers will be flown into England as part of an exchange programme with China. The aim of this initiative is to improve standards in mathematics so that English pupils may match their international counterparts in global measurements such as the PISA tests. y=e^x

content image 1062074

According to a survey by the numeracy campaign, around a third of adults think their mathematical ability holds them back in life, while an economic analysis suggested that a lack of maths skills cost the UK the equivalent of 1.3% of GDP or £20bn per year.

These worrying statistics regarding the mathematical ability of adults, compounded by the low performing results of students, is the driving force behind these proposals.

The English-speaking experts will be placed in ‘maths hubs’ and will share their teaching methods in a bid to improve falling standards. The 'hubs' will be in partnership with a series of schools, who will subsequently share best practice and teaching methods with other local schools as part of the initiative.

The Education Minister, Elizabeth Truss, recently visited Shanghai and commented on the importance of good numerical skills: "Good maths qualifications have the greatest earnings potential and provide the strongest protection against unemployment".

Lead maths hubs include:

• Comberton Academy Trust in Cambridge

• The Hertfordshire & Essex High School and Science College in Hertfordshire

• The Inspiration Trust in Norfolk (Sir Isaac Newton Sixth Form Free School with Kesgrave High School)

• The Spencer Academies Trust in Nottingham

• The Minster School in Southwell, Nottinghamshire

• Fox Primary School in Ladbroke Grove, London

• The St Marylebone CofE School in Westminster, London

• Belleville Primary School in Wandsworth, London

• Elmhurst Primary School in Newham, London

• Woolwich Polytechnic School for Boys in Thamesmead, London

• The Harris Federation in London

• The North Tyneside Learning Trust in Newcastle

• Carmel College in Darlington

• The Bright Futures Educational Trust in Cheshire

• The Ashton on Mersey Teaching School Alliance and Dean Trust in Cheshire

• St Helens Teaching School Alliance in Merseyside

• St. John the Baptist Catholic Comprehensive School in Woking, Surrey

• Denbigh School in Milton Keynes

• Mary Rose Academy in Portsmouth

• St Paul's Catholic College in Burgess Hill, West Sussex

• Wycombe High School in Buckinghamshire

• The Woodroffe School in Lyme Regis, Dorset

• Balcarras School in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

• Truro and Penwith College in Truro, Cornwall

• Cabot Learning Federation in Bristol

• Bishop Challoner Catholic College in Birmingham

• Painsley Catholic College in Cheadle, Staffordshire

• The Priory Federation of Academies Trust in Shropshire

• Harrogate Grammar School in Harrogate, North Yorkshire

• Outwood Grange Academies Trust in Wakefield

• Notre Dame High School in Sheffield

• Trinity Academy Halifax in Halifax

Categories: Education